back to blog

Resolutions

New Year's resolutions are a contentious subject (from what I hear). Last year, I made the resolution to learn how to levitate, but I only made it halfway. Trying to plan something that could take the whole year to accomplish is an incredibly daunting task, so this year I am starting with a January resolution. If I am (mostly) successful then I will consider a February resolution and go from there.

So, what is my January resolution? I am going to run at least 5 miles every day. That works out to a minimum of 155 miles over the 31 day span.

Why

I love to run, but due to a little hip injury a couple of years ago I have limited my running to just a few days a week. Typically, I run about 3 days a week, never more than 4. I am not experiencing pain anymore, and I really want to work on getting more consistent mileage under my belt.

I chose 5 miles, because that is generally the shortest distance I run. If I am going to greatly increase the number of days that I am running then I need to make sure the distance is reasonable. I do plan on mixing up the type of runs to have some variety, so there will be some tempo runs, intervals, etc.

The Route

This is going to be my main route (slightly different than the actual route I will be running, to hide my address a little). This is a favorite route of mine (my wife has nicknamed it the "bikini top" run), because it is mostly on sidewalk/trails and there are no major street crossings. I am hopeful that I will not be doing this route 31 times, but I have a feeling it will be the large majority of my runs.

How is it Going

You may have picked up that this post comes 3 days after the start of the year, and thus 3 days after I am supposed to have started this January resolution. I now have 3 runs under my belt:

  • Day 1: Normal 5 mile run
  • Day 2: 5 miles with 6 strides in the middle
  • Day 3: 5 miles at recovery pace

So far, so good. You can follow my Strava if you want to keep up with my progress.

Happy New Year! 🎉

About that previous blog post... it didn't happen. Maybe next year. 😉